Home Politics Ghanaians will bleed if NDC decides to play rough in Parliament –...

Ghanaians will bleed if NDC decides to play rough in Parliament – Nadowki Kaleo


The former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo constituency and a member of the National Democratic Congress, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin has been elected as the Speaker of the eighth Parliament.

Mr. Bagbin, who was the Second Deputy Speaker in the 7th Parliament won the decisions with 138 votes.

His lone competitor, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye obtained 136 votes.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) proposed Alban Bagbin as their decision possibility for the Speaker of Parliament while the New Patriotic Party (NPP) proposed Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye who filled in as Speaker for the seventh Parliament; 2017 to 2021.

ALSO READ  Don’t reappoint poorly performed Ursula Owusu – Imani President tells Nana Addo

However, Prince Hamid Armah, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament for Kwesimintsim in the Western Region has stated that, if the National Democratic Congress (NDC) lawmakers decide to be difficult with parliamentary business, Ghana and Ghanaians will be the ‘real victims.’

In an opinion piece on the events that characterized the swearing-in of a new Speaker on January 7, the first-time MP charged his colleagues on the opposing side to put Ghana first.

ALSO READ  NDC Vows Not To Recognise Akufo-Addo As President Until...

“The NDC can decide to use its near equal strength to be an obstructive force in the house. It can decide to block flagship legislations just because it can and for the perverse pleasure of frustrating and embarrassing the government.

“But the real victims of this scorched earth approach would be the men, women, and children around the country who sent every single one of us into the House to fight for them and not each other.” he noted

The rivalry between the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) off late have been very tight after the declaration of the 2020 Election whereby the NDC refused to accept defeat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here